Miami Mayor Francis Suarez and Reno Mayor Hillary Schieve Elected as First and Second Vice Presidents

Washington, DC— Today, Dayton Mayor Nan Whaley was elected as the 79th President of the U.S. Conference of Mayors (USCM) during a session of the Conference’s Executive Committee. Mayor Whaley will succeed outgoing USCM President Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer. Miami Mayor Francis X. Suarez was also elected USCM Vice President, and Reno Mayor Hillary Schieve was elected USCM Second Vice President.

“Today, Nan Whaley becomes America’s Mayor,” said USCM CEO and Executive Director Tom Cochran. “A tireless champion for the health and vitality of city economies, Mayor Whaley has long fought not just for the residents of Dayton, but for working families across the country. As we continue to recover from the devastating impacts of COVID-19, Americans are looking to mayors to meet the challenges still facing us. We welcome her bold leadership at this pivotal, and defining, moment in American cities and our nation’s history.”

“We are in the middle of a transformational era for our country, and I am humbled by the opportunity to work more closely with our nation’s mayors in this new capacity to make a real difference in the lives of our residents,” said USCM President Dayton Mayor Nan Whaley. “I am committed to working with federal and local leaders to ensure efficient implementation of the American Rescue Plan and passage of the American Jobs Plan and the American Families Plan to spur economic recovery in our cities. At the same time, we must advance decisive action on common sense gun legislation that protects all of our residents from the growing number of senseless acts of gun violence. We can and must do both, and there is no better time than right now to meet this moment by creating a more safe and equitable future that is available to all of us, not just some of us.”

During today’s Executive Committee session, Mayor Whaley delivered brief remarks highlighting the priorities for her presidency. Her remarks can be viewed here.

The USCM Executive Committee also voted in newly elected leadership, which is as follows:

New USCM Trustees:

  • New Orleans Mayor LaToya Cantrell
  • Tampa Mayor Jane Castor
  • Columbus Mayor Andrew Ginther
  • Chicago Mayor Lori Lightfoot

New USCM Advisory Board Members:

  • Hartford Mayor Luke Bronin
  • Fresno Mayor Jerry Dyer
  • Lincoln Mayor Leirion Gaylor Baird
  • San Diego Mayor Todd Gloria
  • Denton Mayor Gerard Hudspeth
  • St. Louis Mayor Tishaura Jones
  • San Jose Mayor Sam Liccardo
  • Findlay Mayor Christina Muryn
  • Shreveport Mayor Adrian Perkins
  • Boca Raton Mayor Scott Singer
  • Richmond Mayor Levar Stoney