New Leadership Elected to the United States Conference of Mayors

On Monday, June 26, Nominating Committee Chair Des Moines Mayor Frank Cownie delivered the committee’s recommendations during the Business Session of the 85th Annual Meeting in Miami Beach.

The committee’s recommendations were unanimously adopted by the membership.

The new top leadership is reflected as follows:

  • President New Orleans Mayor Mitch Landrieu
  • Vice President Columbia, SC Mayor Stephen Benjamin
  • Second Vice President Rochester Hills, MI Mayor Bryan Barnett

Two new trustees include:

  • Austin, TX Mayor Steve Adler
  • Mesa, AZ Mayor John Giles

Six new Advisory Board members include:

  • Providence (RI) Mayor Jorge Elorza
  • Miami Gardens Mayor Oliver Gilbert
  • Sumter (SC) Mayor Joseph T. McElveen
  • New Bedford (MA) Mayor Jon Mitchell
  • Findlay (OH) Mayor Lydia Mihalik
  • Houston (TX) Mayor Sylvester Turner


You can see the complete list of Trustees and Advisory Board members here.

By |2017-06-29T13:43:27+00:00June 29, 2017|85th Annual Meeting, Updates|

About the Author:

David is the Director of Technology and Innovation at the Conference where he directs the organization's programs and policy in the area of technology, innovation, science, and smart cities.