Environment Standing Committee

About the Committee

Led by Columbia (MO) Mayor Barbara Buffaloe, the Environment Committee is focused on a range of environmental and climate-related issues, including but not limited to: climate mitigation, resiliency, environmental justice, recycling and solid waste management, brownfields, Superfund, clean air, and drinking water/wastewater issues.

We are actively engaged in monitoring and responding to federal legislative or regulatory proposals relating to environmental policy that affect local governments. Additionally, as cities continue to make progress on their climate goals, we work closely with our intergovernmental partners to ensure local implementation of historic new federal investments through both the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law and the Inflation Reduction Act.


Miami Mayor Francis X. Suarez

Mayor Barbara Buffaloe
Columbia, MO


Latest News and Resources

Adopted Policies

During the Conference’s Annual Meeting every June, standing committees recommend policy positions they believe should be adopted by the organization. At this time, every member attending the Annual Meeting is given the opportunity to discuss and then vote on each policy resolution. Each city, represented by its mayor, casts one vote. The policy positions adopted at the Annual Meeting collectively represent the views of the nation’s mayors and are distributed to the President of the United States and Congress.

Search all Environment Standing Committee resolutions dating back to 1992 using the search bar, or view the resolutions passed by Annual Meeting below.

View More