

THE UNITED STATES CONFERENCE OF MAYORS

1620 EYE STREET, NORTHWEST WASHINGTON, D.C. 20006 TELEPHONE (202) 293-7330 FAX (202) 293-2352 TDD (202) 293-9445 URL: www.usmayors.org/uscm

May 10, 2022

The Honorable Richard J. Durbin Chair Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 224 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Charles E. Grassley Ranking Member Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 224 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chairman Durbin and Ranking Member Grassley,

As mayors, we join to write in support of Steven M. Dettelbach to be confirmed as the Director of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF). As members of both parties, we have addressed issues of crime and gun violence in our cities. We understand both the importance of having a Senate confirmed ATF leader and the traits that will make that leader successful. Steve Dettelbach is such a person.

Mr. Dettelbach has been a federal prosecutor for over 20 years. He served as a career prosecutor in both Republican and Democratic Administrations and as United States Attorney for the Northern District of Ohio from 2009-2016. In those positions, he worked side-by-side with mayors and police chiefs as a full partner in the fight against gun crime and violence. He worked with law enforcement to conduct successful enforcement efforts like VGRIP, which aimed to increase enforcement in Youngstown, Cleveland and Toledo when asked by these cities. He also worked with the ATF and local law enforcement to bring larger cases, including a racketeering case against the LSP gang in Youngstown, which was terrorizing a neighborhood in that city. As more than one chief has vividly explained, when a city called this U.S. Attorney for help, he didn't find excuses – he got in his car and came to help.

Mr. Dettelbach understands and respects true partnership. He gets that the problems facing cities are not all the same, that a one-size-fits-all approach makes no sense. And he also has shown that he can listen to local leaders, who often know the most about solving the problems facing their citizens. That is when the ATF can be at its best.

We need a Senate-confirmed Director of the ATF. Without such a leader, the ATF must work even harder to protect the citizens we all serve. Based on his record and passion to fight crime, Steve Dettelbach should be that person. We urge his speedy confirmation as Director of the ATF.

Sincerely,

Randall Woodfin	Michael B. Hancock	Jason Ashmore
Mayor of Birmingham, AL	Mayor of Denver, CO	Mayor of Sesser, IL
Steven Reed	Joe Ganim	Thomas 'Tom' C. Henry
Mayor of Montgomery, AL	Mayor of Bridgeport, CT	Mayor of Fort Wayne, IN
Corey Woods	Luke Bronin	Greg Fischer
Mayor of Tempe, AZ	Mayor of Hartford, CT	Mayor of Louisville, KY
Regina Romero	Muriel Bowser	Sharon Weston Broome
Mayor of Tucson, AZ	Mayor of Washington, DC	Mayor of Baton Rouge, LA
Frank Scott	Joy Cooper	LaToya Cantrell
Mayor of Little Rock, AR	Mayor of Hallandale Beach, FL	Mayor of New Orleans, LA
Javier Moreno	Dan Gelber	Jon Mitchell
Mayor of Calexico, CA	Mayor of Miami Beach, FL	Mayor of New Bedford, MA
Newell Arnerich	Buddy Dyer	Brandon M Scott
Mayor of Danville, CA	Mayor of Orlando, FL	Mayor of Baltimore, MD
Bob Woerner	Frank C. Ortis	Patrick L. Wojahn
Mayor of Livermore, CA	Mayor of Pembroke Pines, FL	Mayor of College Park, MD
Robert Garcia	Jane Castor	Jeffrey Z. Slavin
Mayor of Long Beach, CA	Mayor of Tampa, FL	Mayor of Somerset, MD
Eric Garcetti	Keith A. James	Andy Schor
Mayor of Los Angeles, CA	Mayor of West Palm Beach, FL	Mayor of Lansing, MI
Libby Schaaf	Hardie Davis Jr.	Bryan K. Barnett
Mayor of Oakland, CA	Mayor of Augusta, GA	Mayor of Rochester Hills, MI
Michael M. Vargas	John Arthur Ernst Jr.	Michael C. Taylor
Mayor of Perris, CA	Mayor of Brookhaven, GA	Mayor of Sterling Heights, MI
Todd Gloria	Frank Cownie	William R. Wild
Mayor of San Diego, CA	Mayor of Des Moines, IA	Mayor of Westland, MI
Sam Liccardo	Quentin M. Hart	Elizabeth B. Kautz
Mayor of San Jose, CA	Mayor of Waterloo, IA	Mayor of Burnsville, MN
Pauline Russo Cutter Mayor of San Leandro, CA	Lori E. Lightfoot Mayor of Chicago, IL	Quinton Lucas Mayor of Kansas City, MO
Patrick J. Furey	Nancy Rodkin Rotering	Tishaura O. Jones
Mayor of Torrance, CA	Mayor of Highland Park, IL	Mayor of St. Louis, MO
Carol Dutra-Vernaci	Chris Koos	Chokwe Antar Lumumba Esq.
Mayor of Union City, CA	Mayor of Normal, IL	Mayor of Jackson, MS
Martha Guerrero	Thomas P. McNamara	Mary-Ann Baldwin
Mayor of West Sacramento, CA	Mayor of Rockford, IL	Mayor of Raleigh, NC

Brian C. Wahler	Andrew J. Ginther	Jorge O. Elorza
Mayor of Piscataway, NJ	Mayor of Columbus, OH	Mayor of Providence, RI
Tim Keller	Jeffrey J. Mims Jr.	John J. Tecklenburg
Mayor of Albuquerque, NM	Mayor of Dayton, OH	Mayor of Charleston, SC
Kenneth D. Miyagishima	Frank Whitfield	Tim Kelly
Mayor of Las Cruces, NM	Mayor of Elyria, OH	Mayor of Chattanooga, TN
Alan Webber	Kirsten Holzheimer Gail	Scott Conger
Mayor of Santa Fe, NM	Mayor of Euclid, OH	Mayor of Jackson, TN
Carolyn Goodman	Jack W. Bradley	John Cooper
Mayor of Las Vegas, NV	Mayor of Lorain, OH	Mayor of Nashville, TN
Kathy M. Sheehan	Timothy J. DeGeeter	Steve Adler
Mayor of Albany, NY	Mayor of Parma, OH	Mayor of Austin, TX
Byron W. Brown	Joe Begeny	Sylvester Turner
Mayor of Buffalo, NY	Mayor of Reynoldsburg, OH	Mayor of Houston, TX
Shawyn Patterson-Howard	William 'Doug' Franklin	Ron Nirenberg
Mayor of Mount Vernon, NY	Mayor of Warren, OH	Mayor of San Antonio, TX
Noam Bramson	Jamael Tito Brown	Derrick Wood
Mayor of New Rochelle, NY	Mayor of Youngstown, OH	Dumfries, VA
Eric L. Adams	David Holt	McKinley L. Price DDS
Mayor of New York, NY	Mayor of Oklahoma City, OK	Mayor of Newport News, VA
Ben Walsh	Lacey Beaty	Levar Stoney
Mayor of Syracuse, NY	Mayor of Beaverton, OR	Mayor of Richmond, VA
Thomas M. Roach	Travis Stovall	Mary Lou Pauly
Mayor of White Plains, NY	Mayor of Gresham, OR	Mayor of Issaquah, WA
Donatario 'Don' Hardy	Ted Wheeler	Angela Birney
Mayor of Kinston, NC	Mayor of Portland, OR	Mayor of Redmond, WA
Dan Horrigan	Jason B. Snider	Victoria Woodards
Mayor of Akron, OH	Mayor of Tigard, OR	Mayor of Tacoma, WA
Aftab Pureval	Jim Kenney	Allan Ekberg
Mayor of Cincinnati, OH	Mayor of Philadelphia, PA	Mayor of Tukwila, WA
Justin Bibb	Michael Helfrich	Satya Rhodes-Conway
Mayor of Cleveland, OH	Mayor of York, PA	Mayor of Madison, WI
		Tom Cochran

CEO and Executive Director