

July 17, 2020

The Honorable Amy Klobuchar United States Senate 425 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Tina Smith United States Senate 720 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Senator Klobuchar and Senator Smith:

Thank you for the vital work that you and your colleagues in Congress have done to address the COVID-19 pandemic and the related economic crisis. As you are aware, cities from across the state of Minnesota are impacted by this virus. We are grateful for your leadership and wish to continue our partnership with you to find meaningful, long-term solutions at every level of government to assist with recovery from this unprecedented event.

As mayors of cities from across the state, we are writing to urge you to advocate for inclusion of direct emergency fiscal assistance to local governments in the next COVID response package. As negotiations move forward related to COVID relief efforts, we share in the belief that federal aid for our cities in Minnesota and across the United States must be provided to assist us in:

- Supporting front-line workers who provide essential services
- Addressing potentially catastrophic revenue loss
- Stabilizing local government infrastructure that bolster businesses, workforce and residents

While we continue to <u>respond to</u> the pandemic and mitigate its spread, we are working to reopen our economies in the safest manner possible in line with state and federal guidelines. With dire long-term budget forecasts, our inability to continue to provide city-based services could become another state-wide and national emergency. However, through all of this, cities continue to provide essential services to our residents such as:

- Police, Fire, and Emergency Services
- Housing Support

- Refuse Collection
- Road Repairs & Maintenance
- Permitting & Inspections

We are encouraged that our Minnesota Congressional delegation continues to support direct federal funding to American cities based on a modified Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) formula. It is urgent that local governments receive funding and funding that allows us to continue serving our residents. We urge you to support a bill that 1) provides direct funding to local governments, 2) allows for local governments to cover lost revenues due to the impact of COVID-19, and 3) ensures adequate time to use the federal appropriations. We understand that the U.S. House has passed a bill and we ask the U.S. Senate to quickly pass a companion bill.

In addition, we ask you to support changes to the funding included in the CARES ACT that would create flexibility for cities to utilize existing funding for lost revenue and to promote relief and recovery.

Thank you again for your swift passage of three coronavirus relief bills and we share in the hope that Congress will soon pass legislation that includes direct and flexible fiscal assistance to all cities across the nation. We are grateful for your assistance in this serious endeavor and for your continued service to our cities across the State of Minnesota.

Sincerely,

1<sup>st</sup> Congressional District

Mayor Mike Kuhle, Worthington

Mayor Najwa Massad, Mankato

Mayor Kim Norton, Rochester

Kim I ortm

**2<sup>nd</sup> Congressional District** 

Mayor Myron Bailey, Cottage Grove

**5**<sup>th</sup> Congressional District

Mayor Jacob Frey, Minneapolis

Maria Regan solz

Mayor Maria Regan Gonzalez, Richfield

Mayor Jake Spano, St. Louis Park

6<sup>th</sup> Congressional District

Mayor David Kleis, St. Cloud

## 2<sup>nd</sup> Congressional District

Rigaliet Dante

Mayor Elizabeth Kautz, Burnsville

**3<sup>rd</sup> Congressional District** 

Mayor Tim Busse, Bloomington

Mayor Jeff Lunde, Brooklyn Park

**4<sup>th</sup> Congressional District** 

Mayor Melvin Carter, Saint Paul

7<sup>th</sup> Congressional District

Mayor Johnathan Judd, Moorhead

Mayor Ben Schierer, Fergus Falls

Benjamis M. Schier

**8**<sup>th</sup> Congressional District

Mayor Emily Larson, Duluth

Mayor Roger Maki, Cloquet

Cc: The Honorable Jim Hagedorn (MN-01)

The Honorable Angie Craig (MN-02)

The Honorable Dean Phillips (MN-03)

The Honorable Betty McCollum (MN-04)

The Honorable Ilhan Omar (MN-05)

The Honorable Tom Emmer (MN-06)

The Honorable Collin Peterson (MN-07)

The Honorable Pete Stauber (MN-08)