

THE UNITED STATES CONFERENCE OF MAYORS

1620 EYE STREET NORTHWEST WASHINGTON, D.C. 20006 TELEPHONE (202) 293-7330 FAX (202) 293-2352 URL: www.usmayors.org

President:
MITCHELL J. LANDRIEU
Mayor of New Orleans
Vice President:
STEPHEN K. BENJAMIN
Mayor of Columbia, SC
Secund Vice President:
BRYAN K. BARNETT
Mayor of Rochester Hills
Past Presidents
MICK CORNETT
Mayor of Oldahoma City
ELIZABETH B. KAUTZ
Mayor of Burnsville

Mayor of Burnsville

Trustees: STEVE ADLER Mayor of Austin SHANE T. BEMIS Mayor of Gresham J. CHRISTIAN BOLLWAGE Mayor of Elizabeth JAMES BRAINARD Mayor of Carmel, IN JOY COOPER Mayor of Hallandale Beach BILL de BLASIO

BILL de BLASIO
Mayor of New York
T.M. FRANKLIN COWNIE
Mayor of Des Moines, IA
CREG HISCHER
Mayor of Louisville
JOHN GILES
Mayor of Mesa
KIM McMILLAN
Mayor of Clarkeville
MIKE RAWLINGS
Mayor of Dullas
Mayor of Julias

Mayor of Dallas JAMES J. SCHMITT

Mayor of Green Bay MARILYN STRICKLAND Mayor of Tacoma NAN WHALEY Mayor of Dayton Advisory Board: WILLIAM A. BELL. SR.

WILLIAM A. BELL, SR.
Mayor of Birmingham
JUAN CARLOS BERMUDEZ.
Mayor of Daral
RICHARD J. BERRY
Mayor of Daral
RICHARD J. BERRY
Mayor of Albuquerque
MURIEL BOWSER
Mayor of the District of Columbia
ARDELLE BREDE
Mayor of Rochester, MN
ROY BUOL.
Mayor of Dabuque
PETE BUTTGIEG
Mayor of Dabuque
PETE BUTTGIEG
Mayor of South Bend
CHRISTOPHER L. CABALDON
Mayor of West Satzamento
BUDDY DYER
Mayor of Orlando
JORGE O. ELORAA
Mayor of Providence

Mayor of Providence KAREN FREEMAN-WILSON Mayor of Gary JOSEPI I P. GANIM

JOSEPÍ I P. GANIM
Mayor of Bridgeport
OLIVER G. GILBERT, III
Mayor of Miami Gardens
CAROLYN G. GOODMAN
Mayor of Las Vegas
SYLVESTER "SLY" JAMES, JR.
Mayor of Kansas Ciry, MO
JIARSY LAROSHIJERI:
Mayor of Plano

Mayor of Plano EDWIN M. LEE Mayor of San Francisco JOSEPHT. McELVEEN, JR. Mayor of Sumter LYDIA L. MIHALIK

Mayor of Findlay JON MUTCHELL Mayor of Findlay
JON MITCHELL
Mayor of New Bedford
KENNETH D. MIYAGISHIMA
Mayor of Las Cruces
FRAN & C. ORUIS
Mayor of Pambrooke Pines
ED PAWLOWSKI
Mayor of Allentown
MIGUÉLA, PULIDO
Mayor of Santa Ana
MADELINF ROGERO
Mayor of Knowille
PAUL SOGILIN
Mayor of Madisun, WI
MARK STODOLA
Mayor of Little Rock
SYLVIST ER CURNER
Mayor of Little Rock
Mayor of Little Rock
Mayor of Florance

SYLVESTER TURNER
Mayor of Honston
BRIAN C. WAHLER
Mayor of Piscataway
MARTÍN J. WALSH
Mayor of Boston
ACQUÁNETTA WARREN
Mayor of Fontana
SETTI WARREN
Mayor of Newton

July 25, 2017

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Majority Leader United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Lamar Alexander Chair Committee on Health, Education, Labor & Pensions **United States Senate** Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Charles Schumer Minority Leader United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Patty Murray Ranking Member Committee on Health, Education, Labor & Pensions **United States Senate** Washington, DC 20510

Dear Senators,

On behalf of United States Conference of Mayors, we are writing to strongly urge the Senate to vote "No" on the 'motion to proceed' on any healthcare legislation that would take away healthcare coverage from millions of Americans in our cities. We strongly encourage leadership and relevant members to form a bipartisan working group in partnership with the nation's mayors to craft legislation that will truly fix what ails our healthcare system.

We are Republican and Democratic mayors who represent small and large cities and towns in progressive and conservative states and localities – we are on the ground and closest to the people; and we are ready and willing to partner with you. We are united and confident that, working with you, we will find actionable solutions to strengthen healthcare delivery.

Cities and their metro regions are home to 86% of the nation's population, 88% of the nation's jobs, and 91% of the country's GDP. Any proposal that strips away coverage, hurts seniors, or hampers efforts to combat the opioid epidemic is a non-starter for cities. During our annual meeting earlier this summer, the nation's mayors released the *Mayors*' Agenda for the Future that affirms our position as the public officials closest to the people, and that quality health care in this country should be viewed by all as a human right, not a privilege for those who can afford access to it.

A bipartisan working group that includes Mayors, Governors and Senators and that is inclusive of cities' voices regardless of their relative size, demographic makeup, or political persuasion – will provide a venue for vibrant, productive policy conversations that will deliver real, measurable results. It will serve the best interests of all our shared constituencies, who are best served by action, not partisanship.

Sincerely,

Mitch Landrieu Mayor of New Orleans USCM President

Stephen Benjamin Mayor of Columbia (SC) USCM Vice President

Madeline Anne Rogero Mayor of Knoxville

Nan Whaley Mayor of Dayton

Frank C. Ortis Mayor of Pembroke Pines

Elizabeth B. Kautz Mayor of Burnsville

Paul A. Dyster Mayor of Niagara Falls

John Heilman Mayor of West Hollywood

John Giles Mayor of Mesa

Kim McMillan Mayor of Clarksville

Gary R. McCarthy Mayor of Schenectady Paul R. Soglin Mayor of Madison

Lovely A. Warren Mayor of Rochester

Alan L. Nagy Mayor of Newark

Mike Rawlings Mayor of Dallas

John A. McNally Mayor of Youngstown

William 'Bill' V. Bell Mayor of Durham

Patrick J. Furey Mayor of Torrance

David J. Berger Mayor of Lima

Denny Doyle Mayor of Beaverton

Javier Gonzales Mayor of Santa Fe

Steve Adler Mayor of Austin

Hillary Schieve Mayor of Reno

Michael B. Hancock Mayor of Denver

Eric Garcetti Mayor of Los Angeles Lyda Krewson Mayor of St. Louis

Mark W. Mitchell Mayor of Tempe

Adrian O. Mapp Mayor of Plainfield

Greg Stanton Mayor of Phoenix

Joseph T. McElveen Jr. Mayor of Sumter

Bill de Blasio Mayor of New York City

Sue Higgins Mayor of Oakley

Catherine E. Pugh Mayor of Baltimore

Stephanie A. Miner Mayor of Syracuse

John P. Marchand Mayor of Livermore

Jim Kenney Mayor of Philadelphia

Nancy Rodkin Rotering Mayor of Highland Park

Martin J. Walsh Mayor of Boston Jon Mitchell Mayor of New Bedford

Helene Schneider Mayor of Santa Barbara

Marni L. Sawicki Mayor of Cape Coral

Levar Stoney Mayor of Richmond

Jonathan Rothschild Mayor of Tucson

Paula Hicks-Hudson Mayor of Toledo

Rahm Emanuel Mayor of Chicago

David H. Bieter Mayor of Boise

Donald Terry Mayor of Rancho Cordova

Pauline Russo Cutter Mayor of San Leandro

Marilyn Strickland Mayor of Tacoma

Geraldine 'Jeri' Muoio Ph.D. Mayor of West Palm Beach

Sylvester 'Sly' James Jr. Mayor of Kansas City

Buddy Dyer Mayor of Orlando William Peduto Mayor of Pittsburgh

William A. Bell Sr. Mayor of Birmingham

Ken S. Rosenberg Mayor of Mountain View

Karen M. Freeman-Wilson Mayor of Gary

Joe Baldacci Mayor of Bangor

Luke Bronin Mayor of Hartford

Kathy M. Sheehan Mayor of Albany

Muriel Bowser Mayor of Washington, DC

Edwin M. Lee Mayor of San Francisco

Wayne M. Messam Mayor of Miramar

Greg Fischer Mayor of Louisville

cc. Members of the Senate