Washington Outlook

Senate Committee Passes Parks Legislation

July 31, 2000

By a vote of 13-7, the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee approved the Conservation and Reinvestment Act and sent it to the full Senate for action. The bill contains $450 million for the state and local assistance program of the Land and Water Conservation Fund and $75 million for the Urban Park and Recreation Recovery Program (UPARR). This is a slight decrease from the $125 million for UPARR contained in the House passed bill with the Senate using the difference ($50 million) to fund the Community and Urban Forestry Program.

Senators voting in favor of CARA were the Committee Chair Frank Murkowski(AK), Ranking Minority Member Jeff Bingaman(NM), Gordon Smith(OR), Jim Bunning(KY) Peter Fitzgerald(IL), Daniel Akaka(HI), Bryon Dorgan(ND), Bob Graham(FL), Ron Wyden(OR), Tim Johnson(SD), Mary Landrieu(LA), Evan Bayh(IN), and Blanche Lambert Lincoln(AR). Senators voting in opposition to CARA were Peter Domenici(NM), Don Nickles(OK), Larry Craig(ID), Ben Nighthorse Campbell(CO), Craig Thomas(WY), Slade Gorton(WA), and Conrad Burns(MT).

The bill now goes to the full Senate for action.

Return to Previous Page .

U.S. Mayor
Home Search jwelfley@usmayors.org