The United States Conference of Mayors: Celebrating 75 Years Find a Mayor
Search; powered by Google
U.S. Mayor Newspaper : Return to Previous Page
2008 Mayors’ Climate Protection Award Winners Announced In Miami
Seattle Mayor Nickels, Carmel (IN) Mayor Brainard Receive Top Honors for Local, Innovative Climate Protection Programs

By Lina Garcia
July 14, 2008

Seattle Mayor Greg Nickels and Carmel (IN) Mayor James Brainard were awarded first place honors in the 2008 Mayors’ Climate Protection Awards Program June 20; Seattle for a large city and Carmel for a small city (population under 100,000). The second annual awards, sponsored by The U.S. Conference of Mayors and Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., recognized and honored mayors for their outstanding and innovative practices to increase energy efficiency in their cities and to help curb global warming.

An independent panel of judges, selected by The U.S. Conference of Mayors, determined the winning cities from a pool of over 60 applicants based on the following criteria: 1) mayoral leadership, 2) creativity and innovation, 3) reduction of greenhouse gas emissions, and 4) and/or improved quality of life in their community.

The number of award recipients for both Outstanding Achievement and Honorable Mentions where both increased by the judges due to the competitiveness and quality of all the award applications.

Outstanding Achievement Awards:

Large cities — Denver Mayor John W. Hickenlooper; Honolulu Mayor Mufi Hanneman; Houston Mayor Bill White; and New York Mayor Michael Bloomberg.

Small cities — Chapel Hill (NC) Mayor Kevin C. Foy; Columbia (MO) Mayor Darwin Hindman; Highland Park (IL) Mayor Michael Belsky; and Orland Park (IL) Mayor Daniel J. McLaughlin.

"These two first place award winners, Seattle Mayor Greg Nickels and Carmel Mayor James Brainard have proven that despite an economic downturn in cities and our nation, mayors continue to do what’s right to protect our climate in America. Their actions serve as outstanding examples for other cities of all sizes," said Conference President Trenton Mayor Douglas H. Palmer. "We also commend all the other winners including outstanding achievement and honorable mentions for all their work and dedication to improve our environment. Each and every city who applied for an award, has taken considerable action to protect their local environment so every applicant of our award is also considered a winner."

"Our mayors stand at the gateway to the lives and homes of everyday Americans, and Wal-Mart is proud to recognize those that are working to make climate protection a priority," said Eduardo Castro-Wright, President and CEO of Wal-Mart Stores, U.S., who delivered opening remarks during the awards luncheon in Miami. "While the challenge of climate change remains, together we are helping Americans reduce their energy use and save money so they can live better. With the commitment of the Conference of Mayors, Wal-Mart and everyday citizens, we will continue to move our cities, our nation and our planet forward toward a more sustainable future."

First Place — Award Winning Program Summaries:

Seattle Mayor Greg Nickels (Large City — population over 100,000)

Program Name: Seattle Climate Action Now

Seattle Climate Action Now is a grassroots climate protection campaign aimed at giving Seattle residents the tools they need to start making a real difference at home, at work and on the road.

Carmel Mayor James Brainard (Small City — population under 100,000)

Program Name: Roundabouts

Brainard made the case for installing roundabouts in Carmel by promoting their proven environmental friendliness, safety benefits, cost savings and ability to smooth traffic flow.

Honorable Mention Citations:

Bartlett (IL) Mayor Catherine J. Melchert; Chattanooga (TN) Mayor Ron Littlefield; Colorado Springs (CO) Mayor Lionel Rivera; Oakland (CA) Mayor Ron Dellums; Phoenix Mayor Phil Gordon; Pleasanton (CA) Mayor Jennifer Hosterman; San Francisco Mayor Gavin Newsom; and Scranton (PA) Mayor Christopher A. Doherty

The Mayors’ Climate Protection Awards were jointly presented at the Conference of Mayors’ 76th Annual Meeting in Miami by Conference President Trenton Mayor Douglas H. Palmer and Castro-Wright, Wal-Mart Stores Inc.’s support makes the Climate Protection Awards Program possible.

To see a full report featuring all the 2008 award winning entries, visit the website

To find out more about the 2008 Mayors’ Climate Protection Awards, visit: