The United States Conference of Mayors: Celebrating 75 Years Find a Mayor
Search; powered by Google
U.S. Mayor Newspaper : Return to Previous Page
Mayors Urge Quick Passage of Sandy Hurricane Relief Supplemental

By Laura DeKoven Waxman
January 14, 2013

138 mayors from 36 states and the District of Columbia, and Conference of Mayors CEO and Executive Director Tom Cochran called on Congressional leaders December 19 to pass the Senate supplemental appropriations bill to provide $60 billion in disaster relief in the wake of Hurricane Sandy before the 112th Congress adjourned. The call came in a letter sent to the Majority and Minority Leaders of the Senate, the Speaker of the House, and the Minority Leader of the House.

As has been widely reported, while the Senate passed the bill, the House adjourned before taking up the measure. An outcry quickly arose from Congressional representatives, governors and residents of the affected areas in response to the House’s adjournment before taking up the measure, with some of the sharpest criticism coming from Republicans: New York Representative Peter King called the action “a betrayal of trust.” New Jersey Governor Chris Christie said failure to take up the measure is “why the American people hate Congress. Unlike the people in Congress, we have actual responsibilities.”

In response to that outcry, one of the first actions of the 113th Congress was the January 4 passage of a $ 9.7 billion measure that provided additional borrowing authority for the National Flood Insurance Program. Two days earlier the Federal Emergency Management Agency had announced that without additional borrowing authority, the flood insurance program would run out of money for processing claims the following week. House leaders have promised a vote on the $50 billion remainder of the original bill on January 15. If it passes, the Senate would then have to take it up since its original bill was passed by the previous Congress.

In addition to funding, the original Senate bill included reforms developed by Louisiana Senator Mary Landrieu to the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, the primary federal statute that guides the nation’s response to natural and man-made disasters. Many of those provisions were included in the 2010 report of the Conference of Mayors Stafford Act Reform Task Force and have been adopted as Conference policy. It’s unclear whether these provisions will be included in the legislation which eventually passes the Congress.

Mayors Who Signed the December 19 Letter Calling for Quick Passage of Disaster Relief

Michael A. Nutter, Philadelphia, PA, President
Scott Smith, Mesa, AZ, Vice President
Kevin Johnson, Sacramento, Second Vice President
Joseph P. Riley, Jr., Charleston, SC, Past President
Thomas M. Menino, Boston, MA, Past President
Donald L. Plusquellic, Akron, OH, Past President
Antonio R. Villaraigosa, Los Angeles, CA, Past President
Michael R. Bloomberg, New York, NY
Rahm Emanuel, Chicago, IL
Gerald D. Jennings, Albany, NY
William D. Euille, Alexandria, VA
Ed Pawlowski, Allentown, PA
Terry Bellamy, Asheville, NC
Kevin J Dumas, Attleboro, MA
Steve Hogan, Aurora, CO
Lee Leffingwell, Austin, TX
Marie Lopez Rogers, Avondale, AZ
Stephanie Rawlings-Blake, Baltimore, MD
Becky Ames, Beaumont, TX
Denny Doyle, Beaverton, OR
John B. Callahan, Bethlehem, PA
William W. Brien, MD, Beverly Hills, CA
Mattew T. Ryan, Binghamton, NY
Bill Finch, Bridgeport, CT
Bill Moehle, Brighton, NY
Byron W. Brown, Buffalo, NY
Dave Golonski, Burbank, CA
Kathleen J.DeRosa, Cathedral City, CA
Mark Kleinschmidt, Chapel Hill, NC
Ron Littlefield, Chattanooga, TN
Mary Goloff, Chico, CA
Michael D. Bissonnette, Chicopee, MA
Kim McMillan, Clarksville, TN
Edward J. Kelley, Cleveland Heights, OH
James Anzaldi, Clifton, NJ
Marilyn Gerber, Coconut Creek, FL
Sariah S. Zamora, Colton, CA
Stephen K. Benjamin, Columbia, SC
Michael S. Rawlings, Dallas, TX
Frank Cownie, Des Moines, IA
Carleton E. Carey Sr., Dover, DE
Roy D. Buol, Dubuque, IA
Don Ness, Duluth, MN
William V. “Bill” Bell, Durham, NC
Marcia A. Leclerc, East Hartford, CT
Sal Panto, Easton, PA
Antonia Ricigliano, Edison, NJ
John F. Cook, El Paso, TX
Chris Bollwage, Elizabeth, NJ
Carlo DeMaria, Jr., Everett, MA
Bert H Steinmann, Ewing, NJ
Mario Avery, Fairburn, GA
Michael C. Tetreau, Fairfield, CT
Lioneld Jordan, Fayetteville, AR
Randy McClement, Frederick, MD
Andrew Hardwick, Freeport, NY
James J. Schmitt, Green Bay, WI
Michael Neitzke, Greenfield, WI
Scott Jackson, Hamden, CT
Daniel Juarez, Hawthorne, CA
Andy Hafen, Henderson, NV
Bernita Sims, High Point, NC
Carl Suraci, Hillsborough, NJ
Bill McLeod, Hoffman Estates, IL
Timothy McDonough, Hope, NJ
Jill Swain, Huntersville, NC
Connie Boardman, Huntington Beach, CA
Ava Frisinger, Issaquah, WA
Harvey Johnson, Jr., Jackson, MS
Alvin Brown. Jacksonville, FL
Samuel Teresi, Jamestown, NY
Bobby Hopewell, Kalamazoo, MI
Bernard Carvalho, Kauai, HI
Alberto G. Santos, Kearny, NJ
Richard Clanton, Kentwood, MI
Craig Cates, Key West, FL
Art Madrid, La Mesa, CA
Jack Hoffman, Lake Oswego, OR
Raul Salinas, Laredo, TX
Ken Miyagishima, Las Cruces, NM
David Berger, Lima, OH
Richard J. Gerbounka, Linden, NJ
Mark Stodola, Little Rock, AR
Paul R. Soglin, Madison, WI
Michael Fressola, Manchester Township, NJ
Kathy Catazaro-Perry, Massillon, OH
A C Wharton, Memphis, TN
Scott A. Mann, Menifee, CA
Tom Barrett, Milwaukee, WI
Mary Ann Lutz, Monrovia, CA
Ernest D. Davis, Mount Vernon, NY
John Rhodes, Myrtle Beach, SC
Donnalee Lozeau, Nashua, NH
Jon Mitchell, New Bedford, MA
Mitchell J. Landrieu, New Orleans, LA
Setti D. Warren, Newton, MA
Paul A. Dyster, Niagara Falls, NY
Paul D. Fraim, Norfolk, VA
Chris Koos, Normal, IL
Andre D. Pierre, North Miami, FL
Robert Stefanik, North Royalton, OH
Owen Henry, Old Bridge Township, NJ
Jim Suttle, Omaha, NE
William Capote, Palm Bay, FL
Jeffrey Jones, Paterson, NJ
Shawn Connors, Pecatonica, IL
Frank C. Ortis, Pembroke Pines, FL
David Glass, Petaluma, CA
Greg Stanton, Phoenix, AZ
Brian C. Wahler, Piscataway, NJ
Sam Adams, Portland, OR
Michael Brennan, Portland, ME
Susan Brooks, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
John Marchione, Redmond, WA
Daniel Rizzo, Revere, MA
Rusty Bailey, Riverside, CA
Sandra Armenta, Rosemead, CA
Francis F. Slay, Saint Louis, MO
James Ireton, Jr., Salisbury, MD
Edwin Lee, San Francisco, CA
Mark Batrel, San Jacinto, CA
Helene Schneider, Santa Barbara, CA
David Coss, Santa Fe, NM
Mike McGinn, Seattle, WA
Barbara A. Wallace, Sewell, NJ
Pedro Gonzalez, South San Francisco, CA
Noramie F. Jasmin, Spring Valley, NY
Joseph T. McElveen, Jr., Sumter, SC
Mike Ryan, Sunrise, FL
Stephanie Miner, Syracuse, NY
John Marks, Tallahassee, FL
Chuck Washington, Temecula, CA
Mark W. Mitchell, Tempe, AZ
Carol Dutra-Vernaci, Union City, CA
Scott Avedisian, Warwick, RI
Vincent C. Gray, Washington, DC
Jeri Muoio, West Palm Beach, FL
Susan M. Kay, Weymouth, MA