City of San Antonio, Texas

Mayor Howard W. Peak

Population: 1,067,816
Service Area Population: 250,000

City Contact:
Keith Pyron
Bexar Metropolitan Development Corporation


The Bexar Metropolitan Water District faced a Federal Court mandate to decrease usage of a major source water aquifer to protect endangered species. The District chose to develop a surface water supply as a way to reduce groundwater demand. Bexar Metropolitan Development Corporation (BEXARMET) entered into a 10-year Partnership with United Water Services and Montgomery Watson, Inc. (UWS) to design, build, manage and operate a new 9-mgd ultrafiltration membrane water treatment plant. The facility's design will also include the raw water intake, raw water pipeline, and pumping station.

Customer service, including metering, billing, and collections is performed by BEXARMET. The 10-year term of the Partnership began on December 1, 1999, and a second 10-year operations option is open to UWS. UWS guarantees compliance with the water permit standards, and is designed to meet enhanced treatment of chlorine disinfection byproducts. The facility is designed to accommodate expansion modules, and long-range plans anticipate capacity increases to 27-mgd. Bexar has subscribed the rights to current and future water supplies delivered by the plant.

ESTIMATED/ACTUAL COST SAVINGS— Capital Upgrades, Consumer Rates, and Fees

This project represents new construction, and is the first surface water plant in San Antonio. The capital cost for the plant is $23.9 million, and includes the cost for the raw water intake, pump station, raw water line and ultrafiltration system. The plant is anticipated to realize cost savings of roughly $600,000 per year for 10 years.


United Water Services employs four workers, who are currently not represented by a union. Two of the employees are local residents, and two are transfers from a Houston based UWS facility.

Return to Previous Page.

Urban Water Home Page


The United States Conference of Mayors

J. Thomas Cochran, Executive Director
1620 Eye Street, NW, Washington, DC 20006
Telephone (202) 293-7330, FAX (202) 293-2352

Copyright 2000, U.S. Conference of Mayors, All rights reserved.