WHEREAS, Senators Edward Kennedy (MA), Mike Enzi (WY), Jim Jeffords (VT), and Norm Coleman (MN), have formed a new Senate Cultural Caucus in the United States Senate and they will each serve as co-chairs; and

WHEREAS, the Senate Cultural Caucus co-chairs has circulated a "Dear Colleague" letter, asking U.S. Senators to join this newly-established caucus, which will work to highlight the work of the National Endowment for the Arts, the National Endowment for the Humanities, and the Institute of Museum and Library Services; and

WHEREAS, there is been a well-established Congressional Arts Caucus, which operates only in the U.S. House of Representative and is co-chaired by Representatives Louise Slaughter (D-NY) and Chris Shays (R-CT) and comprised of a total of 184 House members; and

WHEREAS, the new Senate Cultural Caucus and the existing Congressional Arts Caucus will not operate as a bicameral caucus, there will now be established leadership within both the House and Senate to help advance and promote the arts; and

WHEREAS, the Senate Cultural Caucus has described its mission as the following, “Future generations will learn about our history and ideals through our literature, paintings, dance and drama. Yet, we often overlook the important role of the arts in our daily lives…we can do much more to emphasize the broad array of activities that contribute in such a significant way to the cultural identity of our country. The Senate Cultural Caucus will provide opportunities to accomplish this goal.”; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the United States Conference of Mayors affirms the need for establishing a Senate Cultural Caucus and urges the nation’s mayors to urge their U.S. Senators to join the new Senate Cultural Caucus.

©2005 The U.S. Conference of Mayors
Tom Cochran, Executive Director
1620 Eye Street, NW, Washington, DC 20006
Tel. 202.293.7330 ~ Fax 202.293.2352