The United States Conference of Mayors Find a Mayor
Search; powered by Google
City Livability Awards


The Conference of Mayors City Livability Program, sponsored by Waste Management, Inc., honors mayors and their city governments for developing programs that enhance the quality of life in urban areas. Established in 1979, the City Livability Awards are given annually to ten mayors and their cities--a first-place award and four Outstanding Achievement Awards for cities under 100,000 population, and a first-place and four Outstanding Achievement Awards for cities of 100,000 or more inhabitants.

All cities receive guidelines for preparing applications for the City Livability Awards in January of each year. Winners are selected by an independent panel of judges, and the winning mayors are announced at the Annual Conference of Mayors.

2015 City Livability Awards
Guidelines and Application Brochure
Second Round Cities

2014 City Livability Awards

2013 City Livability Awards

2012 City Livability Awards
Winner Videos:  Louisville | West Palm Beach

2011 City Livability Awards
2010 City Livability Awards 
2009 City Livability Awards

2008 City Livability Awards

2007 City Livability Awards
Winners Announced: Press Release | Winners | Video | Photos

2005 City Livability Awards
Winners | Brochure | Press

2004 City Livability Awards 
2004 Winners | Photos
Brochure & Application (Note: Application deadline has passed.) 

2003 City Livability Awards

2003 Winners
2003 Finalists
Brochure & Application (Note: Application deadline has passed.) 

2002 City Livability Awards
2002 City Livability Program Award Winners Announced
Full Color Brochure and Application (227K PDF File)
2002 Finalists (14K PDF File)

2001 City Livability Awards
2001 Winners Announced at 69th Annual Meeting in Detroit.
First Round Winners (7K PDF File)
Guidelines and Timeline
Finalist Selection Process
Most Commonly Asked Questions (99k PDF File)
Application (50k PDF File)

Complete Brochure (1.2MB PDF File)
Small Cities Sample Application: Gadsden
Large Cities Sample Application: New Orleans

2000 City Livability Awards
2000 Winners Awarded at 68th Annual Conference in Seattle 
First Round Winners (21K PDF File)
Eligibility for Participation
Most Commonly Asked Questions
Application (128K PDF File)
Complete Brochure (4.2MB PDF File)

1999 City Livability Awards
1999 City Livability Awards Program Winning Cities
Letter from Waste Management CEO John E. Drury 
Letter from USCM President Deedee Corradini 
Application cover letter 
Most Commonly Asked Questions

1998 City Livability Awards
Examples of 1998 Winning Applications

1997 City Livability Awards 
Examples of 1997 Winning Applications

1996 City Livability Awards

For information about the City Livability Awards please contact:

Jocelyn Bogen
U.S. Conference of Mayors
1620 I St., NW, 4th Floor
Washington, DC 20006
(202) 293-7330 (w)
(202) 293-2352 (f)