Front Page

Economic Development Administration (EDA) Accepts Nominations for Excellence in Economic Development Awards

The Commerce Departmentís Economic Development Administration (EDA) has begun accepting nominations for its Excellence in Economic Development Award, which recognizes outstanding development activities of national importance.

Award recipients will be invited to share their successful strategies and processes with the public at EDAís Economic Development Forum to be held in Albuquerque, New Mexico from May 30 - June 1, 2000. The EDA forum is being co-sponsored by the Conference of Mayors and EDA.

Nominations are made in specific categories each year. Nominees are then evaluated by a Selection Panel appointed by the Assistant Secretary for Economic Development.

This year, nominations will be taken in three categories:

  • Excellence in Urban or Suburban Economic Development;

  • Excellence in Rural Economic Development; and

  • Excellence in Economic Development in Native Communities

Eligible nominees include:

  • Local, state and regional governments;

  • Local, state, and regional nonprofit organizations; and

  • Native American governments and nonprofit organizations.

  • Nominated activities may include:

  • Specific projects of national importance; or

  • the cumulative activities of the nominee.

Nominations must be submitted in accordance with the instructions provided in the nomination packet.

Copies of the nomination materials and rules of the competition may be obtained directly from the EDAís Web site:

Hard copies of the application packet may be obtained by contacting:

Economic Development
Administration (EDA)
Office of Communications and
Congressional Liaison
Room 7814 A
U.S. Department of Commerce
14th St & Constitution Ave., NW
Washington, DC  20230
(202) 482-2309

Completed nominations shall be submitted to the same address.
Nominations may not be submitted by fax or e-mail. Deadline for nominations is March 17, 2000.


U.S. Mayor

Home Search