The United States Conference of Mayors: Celebrating 75 Years Find a Mayor
Search; powered by Google
U.S. Mayor Newspaper : Return to Previous Page
Mayors, Former Mayors Elected to New Offices

By Ed Somers
November 8, 2010

There were ten mayors or former mayors seeking the Governorship in their states, five seeking to be Lt. Governor, one running for U.S. Senate, and nine running for the U.S. House of Representatives on November 2. Of this group, 14 mayors or former mayors were successful in there election bids for other offices.

California will now be led by both former Oakland Mayor Jerry Brown (Governor) and San Francisco Mayor Gavin Newsom (Lt. Governor). Newsom is a USCM Advisory Board Member and long-time co-chair of the USCM Hunger and Homelessness Task Force.

Also elected to statewide office were Denver Mayor John Hickenlooper (Governor of Colorado), former Stamford Mayor Dan Malloy (Governor of Connecticut), Knoxville Mayor Bill Haslam (Governor of Tennessee), former Warwick Mayor Lincoln Chafee (Governor of Rhode Island), Rochester Mayor Robert Duffy (Lt. Governor of New York), and Waterville Mayor Paul LePage (Governor of Maine). Hickenlooper is a USCM Advisory Board Member and chaired the USCM Transportation and Communications Committee. Duffy is a USCM Advisory Board Member and chaired the USCM Criminal and Social Justice Committee. And former mayor Malloy was a long-time USCM Trustee.

In addition, there were a number of sitting officials running for re-election who were former mayors such as Maryland Governor Martin O'Malley who won re-election by an estimated margin of 56-42.

The incoming 112th Congress will also have a few more former mayors. Providence Mayor David Cicilline won election to the House. Cicilline is a USCM Advisory Board Member and chaired the USCM Children, Health and Human Services Committee. Other winners were Rogers (AR) Mayor Steve Womack, former Manchester (NH) Mayor Frank Guinta, former Corning (NY) Mayor Tom Reed, Hazelton (PA) Mayor Lou Barletta, and former Wadsworth (OH) Mayor Jim Renacci.

Mayors Remain in Office

While several mayors were unsuccessful in their races, their terms have not ended and they will remain in office. USCM Trustee Brenda Lawrence remains mayor of Southfield (MI) after her run for Lt. Governor. Also still in office will be Milwaukee (WI) Mayor Tom Barrett, Bethlehem (PA) Mayor John Callahan, Danbury (CT) Mayor Mark Boughton, Lansing (MI) Mayor Virg Bernero, and Palm Springs Mayor Steve Pougnet.

NameTitle/City/State Office SoughtPartyResult
Dan MalloyFormer Mayor Stamford CTGovernorDWon
John HickenlooperMayor Denver COGovernorDWon
Bill WhiteFormer Mayor Houston TXGovernorDLost
Virg BerneroMayor Lansing MIGovernorDLost
Tom BarrettMayor Milwaukee WIGovernorDLost
Bill HaslamMayor Knoxville TNGovernorRWon
Jerry BrownFormer Mayor Oakland CAGovernorDWon
Terry GoddardFormer Mayor Phoenix AZGovernorDLost
Lincoln ChafeeFormer Mayor Warwick RIGovernorIWon
Paul LePage Mayor Waterville ME GovernorRWon
Jerry E. AbramsonMayor Louisville KYLt. GovernorD2011 Election
Gavin NewsomMayor San Francisco CALt. GovernorDWon
Robert DuffyMayor Rochester NY Lt.GovernorDWon
Brenda L. LawrenceMayor Southfield MILt. GovernorDLost
Mark BoughtonMayor Danbury CTLt. GovernorRLost
Scott McAdamsMayor Sitka AKU.S. SenateDLost
David N. CicillineMayor Providence RIU.S. HouseDWon
John CallahanMayor Bethlehem PAU.S. HouseDLost
Beth KromFormer Mayor Irvine CAU.S. HouseDLost
Steve WomackMayor Rogers ARU.S. HouseRWon
Frank GuintaFormer Mayor Manchester NHU.S HouseRWon
Steve PougnetMayor Palm Springs CAU.S. HouseDLost
Tom ReedFormer Mayor Corning NY U.S. HouseRWon
Lou BarlettaMayor Hazleton PAU.S. HouseRWon
Jim RenacciFormer Mayor Wadsworth OHU.S. HouseRWon