See what Madison has to offer.

Mayors Elected to Conference Leadership

MADISON, WI (June 18, 2002) — During the U.S. Conference of Mayors 70th Annual Meeting in Madison last week, the nationís mayors voted to elect a new group of mayors to serve as Trustees and members of the Advisory Board of the Conference. In addition, Akron (OH) Mayor Donald L. Plusquellic was elected Chair of the Advisory Board, which puts him in line to become Conference President in 2004. Advisory Board members and Trustees provide leadership and guidance to the development and implementation of Conference policy and programs.

Following is a list of the newly elected members:

Elizabeth G. 'Betty' Flores, Mayor of Laredo
Scott L. King, Mayor of Gary
Arlene J. Mulder, Mayor of Arlington Heights
Douglas H. Palmer, Mayor of Trenton
Bill Purcell, Mayor of Nashville

Advisory Board
James Brainard, Mayor of Carmel
Shirley Dean, Mayor of Berkeley
Manuel A. Diaz, Mayor of Miami
Glenda E. Hood, Mayor of Orlando
Harvey Johnson, Jr., Mayor of Jackson
Kwame Kilpatrick, Mayor of Detroit
Jorge A. Santini, Mayor of San Juan
Charles F. Tooley, Mayor of Billings
Judith Valles, Mayor of San Bernardino

# # #

Lina Garcia: 202/861-6719